August 2017 Fitness Diary!

Tuesday, August 1: August started well with 10 street kilometers and a late-night weights and cardio workout: chest, shoulders, triceps, traps, sides, and abs. The cardio session was a steep 13-minutes. (Cumulative Total: 13)

Wednesday, August 2: Just a decent amount of walking today. Approx 10 kilometers, and it was hot.

Thursday, August 3: No gym because of work and the heat, but 11 street kilometers sufficed.

Friday, August 4: I walked 11.5 street kilometers and also completed an evening workout: back, lats, biceps, core, and a 15-minute cardio session. (Cumulative Total: 28)

Saturday, August 5: An early morning cardio session before a long and busy day that involved about 10 street kilometers if my app measured my steps accurately. I think it kind of did.  (Cumulative Total: 44)

Sunday, August 6: About 11 street kilometers in the later afternoon and evening.

Monday, August 7: No gym again, but I completed around 10 street kilometers.

Tuesday, August 8: Back in my favorite gym for weights (chest, shoulders, triceps, traps, and core). I ended with a wee 10-minute treadmill session. I also walked a total of 9.5 kilometers throughout the day and night. (Cumulative Total: 54)

Wednesday, August 9: A decent legs workout was followed by a steep 13-minute treadmill session. I also walked about 9 kilometers throughout the day. It all adds up – I think. (Cumulative Total: 67)

Thursday, August 10: No gym, and a pretty awful nutrition day, but I did at least walk around 9.5 kilomters. I’m getting real good at walking.

Friday, August 11: No gym for this the last day of work for a few weeks, but I did manage to walk around 9 kilometers throughout the course of the day.

Saturday, August 12: A weights session on another hot day: back, lats, biceps, and core. The cardio session was another short and steep one – 13 whole minutes.  (Cumulative Total: 80)

Sunday, August 13: Another 10 kilometers walking around on my way to and from places for various reasons. A lot of that walking was just killing time waiting for my flight home.

Monday, August 14: Weights: chest, shoulders, triceps, and abs plus another short and steep cardio session which lasted a total of 13 minutes. (Cumulative Total: 93)

Tuesday, August 15: A 14-minute morning cardio session because that’s all I had time for. (Cumulative Total: 107)

Wednesday, August 16: I walked approximately 14.5 kilometers according to my iPhone, and that sounds about right.

Thursday, August 17: Weights in the evening: lats, back, biceps, and core. A 16-minute steep treadmill session followed. (Cumulative Total: 123)

Friday, August 18: A legs workout was followed by 17 steep treadmill minutes. (Cumulative Total: 140)

Saturday, August 19: Thirty-seven morning treadmill minutes started the day and weekend. It felt good to complete a longer session, and I think the toenail problem that saw me cut back on the treadmill has been resolved. (Cumulative Total: 177)

Sunday, August 20: I walked around 13 kilometers, but yesterday’s buffet lunch probably set me back a few weeks.

Monday, August 21: I walked around 16 kilometers and did some weights in the late afternoon: chest, shoulders, triceps, traps, core, and a bit of legs.

Tuesday, August 22: I went for a swim today (1,050 meters) for perhaps the first time since moving from Daegu to Seoul five years ago. I should get back into the habit.

Wednesday, August 23: About 10 kilometers of walking.

Thursday, August 24: Approximately 11 kilometers of walking and listening to music.

Friday, August 25: Just a little bit of walking today, but not enough to count as exercise. I decided against a gym session. It was after all, my last day in Australia for a while. My return flight leaves tonight.

Saturday, August 26: I walked around 9.5 kilometers after arriving back in Korea in the late afternoon.

Sunday, August 27: No gym visit, but I walked a little over 17 kilometers today.

Monday, August 28: More walking while listening to the music of Bear McCreary. Just over 11 kilometers, and now I’m itching to return to the gym. I should also finally get myself to a swimming pool either Thursday or Friday morning.

Tuesday, August 29: Well, I didn’t make it to the gym, but I walked approx. 14.5 kilometers. A much-needed evening nap killed any chance of a gym visit. Tomorrow for sure.

Wednesday, August 30: I walked just over 20 kilometers, and I went to the gym: sides, abs, lower back, biceps, lats, back, calves, and 12 steep treadmill minutes. (Cumulative Total: 189)

Thursday, August 31: Another 2o-kilometer walk around the streets of Seoul.


Total Cardio Sessions (Goal 18): 13

Total Treadmill Minutes (Goal 600): 189

Days Without Exercise (Goal 5): 1

Weekly Cardio Minutes: 44, 49, 84,

Exercising Music: This month’s exercise music comes from the musical mind and pen of Bear McCreary: Battlestar Galactica (BSG) Season 1, BSG Season 2, BSG Season 3, BSG: Razor, Defiance Season 1, Assassin’s Creed: Jack The Ripper, 10 Cloverfield Lane, BSG: The Plan, Moon Breakers, BSG Season 4, BSG: Daybreak, BSG: Blood & Chrome, Colossal,  Caprica: The Pilot, Caprica: The Series, Da Vinci’s Demons Season 1, Da Vinci’s Demons Season 2, Europa, Outlander Season 1,  The Forest, The World of Steam: The Clockwork Heart, “Temporal Distortion”, Eureka Season 2, Angry Video Game Nerd: The Movie, Outlander Season 2, The Music of BSG for Solo Piano, Da Vinci’s Demons Season 3, Human Target, Black Sails Season 1, The Cape, The Sarah Connor Chronicles, The Boy, Defiance: The Game, Knights of Badassdom, Dark Void, Everly, A Very Eureka Christmas, SOCOM 4: US Navy Seals, and  Rest Stop Ahead 2.